Peace in the Scriptures

I’m a religious person, I always have been. At a very young age I felt a deep closeness to my Heavenly Father and to Jesus Christ. I developed faith that I could depend on my relationship with them to bless my life. It was natural for me to turn to God for support following the shooting. One thing I did, to reach out for that support, was go to my scriptures to read and learn and find peace. Yesterday as I was folding laundry and listening to the scriptures, on my computer, I was reminded of the peace the scriptures have brought me and continue to bring me in my life. They are a gift.

I have favorites. Scriptures that have brought me peace and continue to do so. They are probably familiar to many. One is Psalms 46:10, “Be still and know that I am God”. It’s so simple. I have it on a decoration in my kitchen and some days, when I feel anxious and stressed, I just look over and read that little Psalm and remind myself of the peace God brings.  Another favorite is Proverbs 3:5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (read my post titled Trust ) And John 16:33, “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”  These three scriptures are only a few of the many words, I have read, that have brought me peace and clarity.

As I look back on the nights, following the shooting, spent in my room looking for peace, I am grateful that I was able to turn to the scriptures to find it. Peace of mind and spirit were hard to come by for quite some time after the shooting. The scriptures were a refuge for me and a bridge to my Savior and Father in Heaven. I am grateful for those who sacrificed much to share this peace. People like William Tyndale, Martin Luther, John Wycliffe, Joseph Smith, and many others. Their strength and love for God has blessed me and will continue to bless me throughout my life.

Leave a Reply

