The most beautiful batter

There are a lot of things I love in life. One thing that I love to do is bake. When I was young I decided that I wanted to bake bread. I had never baked bread before but decided to give it a try.  I phoned my mom at work to get the recipe. She assured me that making bread may be a little difficult to tackle on my own but directed me to the recipe and wished me luck. To her surprise when she arrived home she found that I had succeeded in baking some delicious loaves of bread. That, I think, marked the beginning of my love for baking. I was happy that I was able to create something that my family enjoyed.  There are several reasons I enjoy baking. In a basic sense there is just the joy found in creating something. Another reason I enjoy baking is that I like to share what I have baked with friends and family. To me it’s a way to let people know you care about them, to bring comfort, and joy to them. Another, somewhat strange reason, I enjoy baking is the batter. I love the way batter looks!!! A nice well mixed batter is a thing of beauty. I enjoy watching a batter mix, folding and lapping over itself, it seriously brings joy to my heart.

I wouldn’t say that I am by any means a great baker and for that reason this won’t happen often, but I am going to share a recipe. I’m not sharing this recipe because it’s the best recipe in my kitchen, I’m sharing it because it’s my favorite batter to look at. I think it’s important to be able to take pleasure in everyday things and this batter is one of my simple pleasures. Seriously it is beautiful, the colors and the texture are what make this my favorite. Make it and I’ll bet you’ll agree. Oh ya, it does taste alright as well as look beautiful.

Lemon cranberry muffins (The most beautiful batter you’ll ever see)

1 cup Flour

1 tsp. Baking powder

1/4 tsp. Salt

1/2 cup Margarine

2/3 cup Sugar

2 Eggs seperated

6 Tbsp. Lemon juice

2 tsp. Lemon peel

1 cup of Cranberries

Sift flour, baking powder and salt. Cream butter, egg yolks and sugar. Mix in lemon juice and peel. Add flour mixture and blend. Beat egg whites till stiff peaks form and fold into batter. Gently mix in cranberries. Bake muffins at 375 degrees for 15-18 minutes. If you like sprinkle a little white sugar on the top of each muffin before baking.

Leave a Reply

